COSY Colloquium: "Computer Networks meet Music Instruments", 21 Mai 2021 | 10:30 am

The talk series with Dr. Luca Turchet (University of Trento) & Dr. Anna Xambó (De Montfort University) around the topic of Networked Electronic Music starts at 10:30 am on 21 May 2021. The talks are hosted by Dr. Oliver Hödl (University of Vienna)



The Emerging Field of the Internet of Musical Things: Enabling Technologies and Open Challenges

Friday, May 21st 2021 at 10.30am
Luca Turchet, PhD, Assistant Professor and Head of the Creative, Intelligent and Multisensory Interactions Lab, Department of Information Engineering and Computer Science, University of Trento, Italy.



Audience engagement in musical performances through on-site and online networks

Friday, May 21st 2021 at 11.15am
Anna Xambó, PhD, Senior Lecturer in Music and Audio Technology, Faculty of Computing, Engineering and Media, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK.


About Luca Turchet

Luca Turchet is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Information Engineering and Computer Science of University of Trento, where he leads the Creative, Intelligent and Multisensory Interactions Lab. He received master degrees (summa cum laude) in Computer Science from University of Verona, in classical guitar and composition from Music Conservatory of Verona, and in electronic music from the Royal College of Music of Stockholm. He received the Ph.D. in Media Technology from Aalborg University Copenhagen. His scientific, artistic, and entrepreneurial research has been supported by numerous grants from different funding agencies including the European Commission (Marie Curie Fellow), the European Institute of Innovation and Technology, the European Space Agency, the Italian Minister of Foreign Affairs, and the Danish Research Council. He is co‐founder and Head of Sound and Interaction Design at the music tech company Elk. His main research interests are in music technology, Internet of Things, Extended Reality, human‐computer interaction, and multimodal perception. He is author of more than 90 peer‐reviewed papers (4 of which received an award) as well as of 2 international patents, and is co‐editor of the book “Ubiquitous Music Ecologies” from Routledge Press. He is Associate Editor of IEEE Access and of Journal of the Audio Engineering Society. He is leading guest editor of special issues of the Journal of the Audio Engineering Society and Journal of Personal and Ubiquitous Computing. He is the Chair of the IEEE Open Innovations Association Conference 2020, the International Workshop on the Internet of Sounds 2020 and 2021, and the Audio Mostly Conference 2021.

About Anna Xambó

Anna Xambó is a researcher and musician with a background in computing, social sciences, and digital arts. She is currently a Senior Lecturer in Music and Audio Technology at De Montfort University (Leicester, UK) and a member of the Music, Technology, and Innovation - Institute of Sonic Creativity (MTI^2). She studied HCI and music technology at Universitat Pompeu Fabra and completed her PhD in computer-supported collaboration on interactive tabletops for music performance at The Open University. Her passion for sound and music computing kept being nurtured as a postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Music Technology and Digital Media Program at Georgia Tech, postdoctoral research assistant at the Centre for Digital Music at Queen Mary University of London, and Associate Professor in Music Technology at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. Her research and practice focus on sound and music computing systems looking at novel approaches to collaborative, participatory, and live coding experiences. She is PI of the EPSRC HDI Network Plus funded project "MIRLCAuto: A Virtual Agent for Music Information Retrieval in Live Coding" and has taken leading roles in organisations with a special interest in improving the representation of women in music technology.


Cooperative Systems (COSY)

Host and organising institution
Foto credit: Albert Rafetseder

Screenshot of the live performance of „NiCE piece“ on 23. June 2020, which is a piece for 7 musicians playing a networked electronic music performance using the Virtual Rehearsal Room (VRR). Foto credit: Albert Rafetseder